The Comfort of Monsters

Willa C Richards

Set in Milwaukee during the "Dahmer summer" of 1991, A remarkable debut novel for fans of Mary Gaitskill and Gillian Flynn about two sisters--one who disappears, and one who is left to pick up the pieces in the aftermath.I

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $27.99  
1 - 24 $22.39 20%
25 - 99 $19.59 30%
100 - 499 $18.19 35%
500 + $17.63 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$27.99


Book Information

Publisher: Harper
Publish Date: 07/13/2021
Pages: 400
ISBN-13: 9780063053021
ISBN-10: 0063053020
Language: English

What We're Saying

July 13, 2021

Books to Watch | July 13, 2021

By Dylan Schleicher, Gabbi Cisneros, Emily Porter

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

July 09, 2021

The Comfort of Monsters

By Emily Porter

Richards writes a beautiful ballad to the missing and to those who survive, trying to pick up the pieces without knowing what that means. The pages illustrate the world of those who survive and the many missing faces of those who disappear. READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

Set in Milwaukee during the "Dahmer summer" of 1991, A remarkable debut novel for fans of Mary Gaitskill and Gillian Flynn about two sisters--one who disappears, and one who is left to pick up the pieces in the aftermath.

In the summer of 1991, a teenage girl named Dee McBride vanished in the city of Milwaukee. Nearly thirty years later, her sister, Peg, is still haunted by her sister's disappearance. Their mother, on her deathbed, is desperate to find out what happened to Dee so the family hires a psychic to help find Dee's body and bring them some semblance of peace.

The appearance of the psychic plunges Peg back to the past, to those final carefree months when she last saw Dee--the summer the Journal Sentinel called "the deadliest . . . in the history of Milwaukee." Serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer's heinous crimes dominated the headlines and overwhelmed local law enforcement. The disappearance of one girl was easily overlooked.

Peg's hazy recollections are far from easy for her to interpret, assess, or even keep clear in her mind. And now digging deep into her memory raises doubts and difficult--even terrifying--questions. Was there anything Peg could have done to prevent Dee's disappearance? Who was really to blame for the family's loss? How often are our memories altered by the very act of voicing them? And what does it mean to bear witness in a world where even our own stories are inherently suspect?

A heartbreaking page-turner, Willa C. Richards' debut novel is the story of a broken family looking for answers in the face of the unknown, and asks us to reconsider the power and truth of memory.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.