The 2022 Porchlight Business Book Awards Longlist is here! 

Don't Cry for Me (Original)

Daniel Black

"As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $26.99  
1 - 24 $21.59 20%
25 - 99 $18.89 30%
100 - 499 $17.54 35%
500 + $17.00 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$26.99


Book Information

Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publish Date: 02/01/2022
Pages: 304
ISBN-13: 9781335425737
ISBN-10: 133542573X
Language: English

What We're Saying

February 16, 2022

There is literature that reaches into your soul and shifts something within you, and this book is one of them. This book is going to become a necessary addition on the classics shelf. READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

*A Book of the Month Club Pick*

NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK IN ESSENCE MAGAZINE, THE MILLIONS AND BOOKISH

"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song."--Jesmyn Ward

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker


As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob's role as a father and his reaction to Isaac's being gay.

But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace.

With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.