The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

Annie Murphy Paul

A New York Times Editors' Choice A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021 A New York Times Notable Book A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships Use your head.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $28.00  
1 - 29 $22.40 20%
30 - 99 $19.60 30%
100 - 499 $18.20 35%
500 + $16.80 40%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$28.00


Book Information

Publisher: Mariner Books
Publish Date: 06/08/2021
Pages: 352
ISBN-13: 9780544947665
ISBN-10: 0544947665
Language: English

What We're Saying

June 08, 2021

Books to Watch | June 8, 2021

By Dylan Schleicher, Gabbi Cisneros, Emily Porter

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

June 02, 2021

One of the most overlooked discoveries in all the advancements we've made in understanding how the brain functions in recent decades is that it has its limits. Science journalist Annie Murphy Paul helps us overcome some of those limits by teaching us how our cognition extends into our bodies, our environment, and our relationships with others. READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships
Use your head. That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us-- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively. The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.