Looking for 800-CEO-READ? That's us! Learn More

Joy Luck Club

Amy Tan

A New York Times Bestseller In 1949 four Chinese women - drawn together by the shadow of their past - begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks, eat dim sum, and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club. Nearly forty years later, one of the members has died. When her daughter comes to take her place, she learns of her mother's lifelong wish, and the tragic way in which it has come true.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

List Price $16.00
1 - 24 $12.80
25 - 99 $9.92
100 - 249 $9.60
250 - 499 $9.28
500 + $9.12

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$16.00


Book Information

Publisher: Penguin Books
Publish Date: 09/21/2006
Pages: 288
ISBN-13: 9780143038092
ISBN-10: 0143038095
Language: English

Full Description

For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, The Valley of Amazement, revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters
Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue.

With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.