Looking for 800-CEO-READ? That's us! Learn More

The Reminders

Val Emmich

Moving away from the West Coast when someone records and uploads his bonfire of personal objects after a devastating loss, Gavin starts over in New Jersey and struggles with painful memories at the side of a friend's ten-year-old daughter, a girl with an eidetic memory.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

List Price $26.00

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$26.00


Book Information

Publisher: Little Brown and Company
Publish Date: 05/30/2017
Pages: 320
ISBN-13: 9780316316996
ISBN-10: 0316316997
Language: English

Full Description

From the author of Dear Evan Hansen, The Reminders is perfect for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan's The Engagement or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, and follows what happens when a girl who can't forget befriends a man who's desperate to remember.

Grief-stricken over his partner Sydney's death, Gavin sets fire to every reminder in the couple's home before fleeing Los Angeles for New Jersey, where he hopes to find peace with the family of an old friend. Instead, he finds Joan. Joan, the family's ten-year-old daughter, was born Highly Superior Autobiographical Memory, or HSAM: the rare ability to recall every day of her life in cinematic detail. Joan has never met Gavin until now, but she did know his partner, and waiting inside her uncanny mind are startlingly vivid memories to prove it. Gavin strikes a deal with Joan: in return for sharing her memories of Sydney, Gavin will help her win a songwriting contest she's convinced will make her unforgettable. The unlikely duo set off on their quest until Joan reveals unexpected details about Sydney's final months, forcing Gavin to question not only the purity of his past with Sydney but the course of his own immediate future. Told in the alternating voices of these two irresistible characters, The Reminders is a hilarious and tender exploration of loss, memory, friendship, and renewal.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.