Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir

Kat Chow

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $28.00  
1 - 24 $22.40 20%
25 - 99 $19.60 30%
100 - 499 $18.20 35%
500 + $17.64 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$28.00


Book Information

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publish Date: 08/24/2021
Pages: 368
ISBN-13: 9781538716328
ISBN-10: 1538716321
Language: English

What We're Saying

August 24, 2021

Books to Watch | August 24, 2021

By Dylan Schleicher, Gabbi Cisneros, Emily Porter

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

August 20, 2021

Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir

By Emily Porter

Seeing Ghosts unravels her family’s generational grief and reveals how it followed her mother’s life as well as her own. READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family. Kat Chow has always been unusually fixated on death. She worried constantly about her parents dying---especially her mother. A vivacious and mischievous woman, Kat's mother made a morbid joke that would haunt her for years to come: when she died, she'd like to be stuffed and displayed in Kat's future apartment in order to always watch over her. After her mother dies unexpectedly from cancer, Kat, her sisters, and their father are plunged into a debilitating, lonely grief. With a distinct voice that is wry and heartfelt, Kat weaves together a story of the fallout of grief that follows her extended family as they emigrate from China and Hong Kong to Cuba and America. Seeing Ghosts asks what it means to reclaim and tell your family's story: Is writing an exorcism or is it its own form of preservation? The result is an extraordinary new contribution to the literature of the American family, and a provocative and transformative meditation on who we become facing loss.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.