News & Opinion

The Financial Times and McKinsey & Company Business Book of the Year Award Shortlist

September 07, 2016


The shortlist for the 2016 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award has been announced.

The shortlist was just announced for the 2016 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award. It has all come down to:

From the press release…

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, said: “The remarkable range of books this year include a heavyweight biography of Greenspan, a lively exploration of policy dilemmas around longevity, a historical inquiry into the productivity gap, and an argument for righting the balance between finance and industry in a modern economy. Readers will find much to debate and many practical solutions.”

Rodney Zemmel, McKinsey & Company's Managing Partner, Northeast U.S., added: “This year’s shortlist explores the clash of forces that businesses have to navigate today, from demography to technology change to how to get the most out of talent. Rather than just laying out the problems, the authors offer interdisciplinary thinking and an intriguing range of potential answers.”
The judging panel, chaired by Lionel Barber, includes:
  • Mohamed El-Erian, Chief Economic Advisor, Allianz; Chair, President Obama’s Global Development Council, (winner, 2008, When Markets Collide)
  • Herminia Ibarra, Cora Chaired Professor of Leadership and Learning Professor of Organizational Behavior, INSEAD
  • Rik Kirkland, Partner and Director of Publishing, McKinsey & Company
  • Dambisa Moyo, Global Economist and Author, Non-Executive Director, Barrick Gold, Barclays, SAB Miller, and Seagate Technology
  • Shriti Vadera, Chairman, Santander UK; Senior Independent Director, BHP Billiton and Non-Executive Director, AstraZeneca
The winner will be announced at a dinner ceremony on 22 November at the National Gallery in London, co-hosted by Lionel Barber and Dominic Barton, Global Managing Directorof McKinsey & Company. Baroness Dido Harding, CEO of the TalkTalk Group, will give the keynote speech. The winner of the Business Book of the Year Award 2016 will be awarded £30,000, and £10,000 will be awarded to each of the remaining shortlisted books.

Previous Business Book of the Year winners include:

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.