Looking for 800-CEO-READ? That's us! Learn More

Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi

Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut--the launch volume of her Legacy of Orisha series--ideal for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.baa Tahir.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

List Price $18.99
1-24 $15.19
25-99 $13.29
100-499 $12.34
500+ $11.96

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$18.99


Book Information

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Publish Date: 03/06/2018
Pages: 544
ISBN-13: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Language: English

What We're Saying

May 23, 2018

Our staff members share the books they will be reading over the holiday weekend. READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." --Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." --New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" --New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." --Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." --Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.