In the Quick

Kate Hope Day

"In the Quick is the story of June, a brilliant but difficult girl, unloved by her adoptive family, with a gift for mechanical invention, who leaves home to begin a grueling astronaut training program. Six years later, she has gained a coveted post as an engineer on a space station, but is haunted by the mystery of Inquiry, a revolutionary spacecraft powered by her beloved late uncle's fuel cells.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $27.00  
1 - 24 $21.60 20%
25 - 99 $16.74 38%
100 - 249 $16.20 40%
250 - 499 $15.66 42%
500 + $15.39 43%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$27.00


Book Information

Publisher: Random House
Publish Date: 03/02/2021
Pages: 272
ISBN-13: 9780525511250
ISBN-10: 0525511253
Language: English

Full Description

A young, ambitious female astronaut's life is upended by a love affair that threatens the rescue of a lost crew in this brilliantly imagined novel, in the tradition of Station Eleven and The Martian.

"An enthralling, romantic, and powerful testament to human strength and frailty, and the pursuit of possibility."--Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie June is a brilliant but difficult girl with a gift for mechanical invention who leaves home to begin grueling astronaut training at the National Space Program. Younger by two years than her classmates at Peter Reed, the school on campus named for her uncle, she flourishes in her classes but struggles to make friends and find true intellectual peers. Six years later, she has gained a coveted post as an engineer on a space station--and a hard-won sense of belonging--but is haunted by the mystery of Inquiry, a revolutionary spacecraft powered by her beloved late uncle's fuel cells. The spacecraft went missing when June was twelve years old, and while the rest of the world seems to have forgotten the crew, June alone has evidence that makes her believe they are still alive. She seeks out James, her uncle's former protégé, also brilliant, also difficult, who has been trying to discover why Inquiry's fuel cells failed. James and June forge an intense intellectual bond that becomes an electric attraction. But the relationship that develops between them as they work to solve the fuel cell's fatal flaw threatens to destroy everything they've worked so hard to create--and any chance of bringing the Inquiry crew home alive. A propulsive narrative of one woman's persistence and journey to self-discovery, In the Quick is an exploration of the strengths and limits of human ability in the face of hardship, and the costs of human ingenuity.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.