Woman Alone: A Six-Month Journey Through the Australian Outback

Laine Cunningham, Angel Leya

For fans of Cheryl Strayed's Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love. At twenty-seven, Laine Cunningham seemed to have it all: tons of friends, a college degree, plenty of all-night parties, and a secure job.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Bulk non-returnable discounts

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $11.99  
1 - 24 $9.59 20%
25 - 99 $8.39 30%
100 - 499 $7.79 35%
500 + $7.55 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

$11.99


Book Information

Publisher: Sun Dogs Creations.
Publish Date: 11/01/2016
Pages: 184
ISBN-13: 9780998224022
ISBN-10: 0998224022
Language: English

Full Description

For fans of Cheryl Strayed's Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love.

At twenty-seven, Laine Cunningham seemed to have it all: tons of friends, a college degree, plenty of all-night parties, and a secure job. Yet every morning she dragged herself through a life that was corporatized and overly industrialized, a life that falsely glamorized everything she was supposed to want.

Guided only by a map pulled from an old copy of National Geographic, she camped in the Australian Outback for six months...and she did it alone.

Traveling in a time before Expedia or Travelocity, and without any guidebook or travel guide from Lonely Planet, the trip was never intended to be a vacation. Instead, it was a search for something deeper, something that lay inside. Cheap plane tickets or the cost of the airfare were far less important than the investment Laine made in herself.

The self-guided adventure tour around the country covered nearly 17,000 miles. Hostels were preferred to hotels, and then only when camping under the stars wasn't an option. Otherwise, her best accommodation was the red sand and her only travel guide was her instinct about where on the map to explore next.

Told with warm humor and sparked with suspense, the search revealed a woman's most important discovery: herself.

Laine Cunningham, a three-time recipient of The Hackney Award, writes fiction that takes readers around the world. Her debut novel, The Family Made of Dust, is set in the Australian Outback, while Reparation is a novel of the American Great Plains. She is the editor of Sunspot Literary Journal.

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.