Ambition Monster: A Memoir

Pre-Order for 6/4/2024 (~13 days)

Ambition Monster: A Memoir

By Jennifer Romolini

"A deeply personal memoir about workaholism, the addictive nature of ambition, and the humbling process of picking yourself up when the world lets you down: an anti-girlboss tale for our times"--

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $29.99  
1 - 24 $25.49 15%
25 - 99 $20.99 30%
100 - 499 $19.49 35%
500 + $18.89 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

Non-returnable discount pricing

$29.99


Book Information

Publisher: Atria Books
Publish Date: 06/04/2024
Pages: 304
ISBN-13: 9781668056585
ISBN-10: 1668056585
Language: English

What We're Saying

April 03, 2024

"Written with self-deprecation and wit, Ambition Monster is a gutsy and powerful look at workaholism and the addictive nature of achievement, the lingering effect of childhood trauma, and the failures of our modern rat race." READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Full Description

A Best Book of 2024 by Harper's Bazaar * PureWow * Brit & Co "As hilarious as it is heart-wrenching...[A] gift of storytelling, and an act of reclamation." --Ashley C. Ford, New York Times bestselling author A deeply personal memoir about workaholism, the addictive nature of ambition, and the humbling process of picking yourself up when the world lets you down--an anti-girlboss tale for our times for readers of Drinking: A Love Story and Uncanny Valley. After years of relentlessly racing up the professional ladder, Jennifer Romolini reached the kind of success many crave: a high-profile, C-suite dream job, a book well-received enough that reporters wanted to know the secrets to her success, and a gig traveling around the country giving speeches on "making it." She had a handsome and clever husband, a precocious child. But beneath this polished surface was a powder keg of unresolved trauma and chronic overwork. It was all about to blow. Written with self-deprecation and wit, Ambition Monster is a gutsy and powerful look at workaholism and the addictive nature of achievement, the lingering effect of childhood trauma, and the failures of our modern rat race. This is a Cinderella story of success and a brutal appraisal of the cost of capitalism--perfect for people pleasers, overachievers, and those whose traumas have driven them to strike for "goodness," no matter the cost. With its timely and resonant deconstructing of the American Dream, Ambition Monster is a singular excavation of selfhood, an essential interrogation about the way we work, and an inspiring and affirming call to always bet on yourself.

About the Author

Jennifer Romolini is the author of Weird in a World That's Not , Ambition Monster , and is the host of the podcast Everything Is Fine. Her work has appeared in The New York Times , Elle , Fast Company , Vogue , and many others.

Learn More

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.