Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility

By Jane Austen

When Marianne and Elinor Dashwood's father falls ill, the two eldest sisters are faced with an uncertain future. Relying on a successful marriage as their only source of refuge, Marianne and Elinor must choose between following their hearts, or doing what is sensible. Written by Jane Austen in 1811, Sense and Sensibility found immediate success as Austen's first published novel.


Quantity Price Discount
List Price $13.99  
1 - 24 $11.89 15%
25 - 99 $9.79 30%
100 - 499 $9.09 35%
500 + $8.81 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

Non-returnable discount pricing


Book Information

Publisher: Mint Editions
Publish Date: 05/01/2020
Pages: 298
ISBN-13: 9781513263434
ISBN-10: 1513263439
Language: English

Full Description

Set in London at the turn of the 18th century, The Dashwood family is on the crux of financial ruin after the untimely death of the patriarch. Forced to pack up their belongings and relinquish their comfortable lifestyle, Mrs. Dashwood and her three daughters, move in with their distant relatives the Middeltons, at Barton Park. There, they must each adapt to a new, more sensible way of life.

Sense and Sensibility is a story teeming with gossip, lies, betrayal and love. As comes with the responsibility of adulthood, Marianne and Elinor Dashwood must both find suitors, or their prospects for a happy life will most certainly be diminished. Needing to stay with their estranged family in their home, the new dynamics of the household are anything but conventional. Elinor, the more judicious of the two sisters, understands the perils of what's to come should she not find a husband. But Marianne has a different agenda. Believing firmly in the power of love, Marianne holds out hope that when she does marry, it won't only be for financial security

In Jane Austen's first novel, the Dashwood sisters quickly learn that love requires a balance of both head and heart, and that the commitment of marriage is one that requires a mature sensibility. With an eye-catching new cover, and a cleanly typeset manuscript, this edition of Sense and Sensibility is both modern, and readable.

About the Author

Jane Austen (1775-1817) was an English novelist known for six major novels, Pride and Prejudice; Sense and Sensibility; Becoming Jane; Emma; Mansfield Park; and Northanger Abbey. Her writing style has been widely thought of as a cross between realist and romantic genres.

Learn More

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.