We Had to Remove This Post

Hanna Bervoets

For readers of Leila Slimani's The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma's Severance : a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors--reviewers of violent or illegal videos for an unnamed megacorporation--who convince themselves they're in control.

READ FULL DESCRIPTION

Quantity Price Discount
List Price $22.99  
1 - 24 $18.39 20%
25 - 99 $16.09 30%
100 - 499 $14.94 35%
500 + $14.48 37%

Quick Quote

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit

Non-returnable discount pricing

$22.99


Book Information

Publisher: Harper
Publish Date: 05/24/2022
Pages: 144
ISBN-13: 9780358622369
ISBN-10: 0358622360
Language: English

Full Description

WHAT IS "NORMAL"?

WHAT IS "RIGHT"?

AND WHO GETS TO DECIDE?

To be a content moderator is to see humanity at its worst--but Kayleigh needs money. So she takes a job working for a social media platform whose name she isn't allowed to mention. Her task: review offensive videos and pictures, rants and conspiracy theories, and decide which need to be removed. It's grueling work. Kayleigh and her colleagues spend all day watching horrors and hate on their screens, evaluating them with the platform's ever-changing moderating guidelines. Yet Kayleigh is good at her job, and she finds in her colleagues a group of friends--even a new girlfriend--and for the first time in her life, her future seems bright.

But soon the job seems to change them all, shifting their worlds in alarming ways. How long before the moderators' own senses of right and wrong begin to bend and flex?

From one of the most acclaimed Dutch writers of her generation, We Had to Remove This Post is a chilling, powerful, and urgent literary masterpiece about who or what determines our worldview, who sets the boundaries, and just how much a person can be asked to accept.

About the Author

HANNA BERVOETS is the author of seven novels in the Netherlands and the recipient of the Frans Kellendonk Prize. She was also a resident at Art Omi: Writers in New York.

Learn More

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to read our full policy.